Day 4: More Function Transformations, Percentiles, and a Golf Match

I know this is many days late, but this post refers to last Thursday (eep).  I’m going to do my best to get caught up this week.  Day 4 was a bit less eventful than most.  We spent a lot of time defining and transforming.

Precalculus:  This class was definitely the least eventful of the day.  I had to leave school early to go to a golf match.  So, we debriefed homework, and then I went on my way (while they did some conversion practice).  Unfortunately, this will happen more than I’d hope for this nine weeks.

AP Statistics:  We started the class with a warm-up that I modified from FSU’s Learning Systems Institute MFAS project (I think…I mean…I’m pretty sure).

1.1 Frequencies, Percentiles, and Ogives_1

We used this set of questions to emphasize details and clarity in their writing.  Defining the variable as clearly as possible, how they calculated certain values, etc.

The rest of class discuss percentiles and their usage.  We started the conversation with the least imaginative example I could think of:

1.1 Frequencies, Percentiles, and Ogives_6

Then came the hard-hitting question: “What does the national percentile represent?”

We spent the rest of the class calculating frequencies, relative frequencies (percents), and cumulative relative frequencies (percentiles).  Then we learned how to create and interpret ogives (they show percentiles versus variable values).  Nothing too spectacular, but necessary.

Algebra II:

We continued our conversation about transformations of functions.

1.2 Transforming Functions Day 2_2

This is the style of question I want them to be able to answer.  General trends for general functions.  Not memorizing rules, but knowing the 3 affects the input and the 2 affects the output.  Understanding that changing inputs affects the x-direction and changing the outputs affects the y-direction.  We’re really going to develop function ideas throughout the course of the year.

The rest of the activity was:

1.2 Transforming Functions Day 2_4 1.2 Transforming Functions Day 2_5 1.2 Transforming Functions Day 2_6 1.2 Transforming Functions Day 2_7

I could hear them starting to hypothesize what would happen (and justify their reasoning).  They’re still a bit afraid to be wrong.  I’m trying to convince them that they learn more from being wrong than being right all of the time, but they’re still a bit apprehensive.  It’s getting better though; we’ll stick with it.

Leave a Reply

