Summer Statistics Institute Day 6 (I NEED TO TEACH)

There’s so much that I want to say, but I’m not sure how much of it I should say on a public forum. I didn’t have any lessons to teach today. It was another day of answering questions and giving input for those who wanted it. Some brief notes from the day:

1) I NEED TO TEACH. Sitting and watching someone else teach in a way that is the antithesis of everything you believe about teaching and learning is frustrating. Really really frustrating.

2) I did manage to pick up an activity to teach tomorrow on probability and its meaning. It’s not a favorite activity of mine, but it’ll give me a chance to grow.

3) I’m really proud of the group of teaching I’ve been working with. They’re building lessons about statistics and they’re asking great questions. These 25 teachers really want to grow as professionals and it makes me proud to be a teacher.

4) It still amazes me how unprepared a lot (the term “a lot” may be hyperbole but I’m sensing a lot of discomfort) of our teachers are to teach statistics the right way. I feel like we’re trying to fill a needed ocean of statistical knowledge with a leaky bucket.

Probability starts tomorrow…be prepared!

Leave a Reply

