Mr. Cloud’s Foul Shots

We are getting dangerously close to dealing with inference in statistics. We have been working for a while on sampling distributions for means and proportions and calculating probabilities for them. I wanted to give my students an opportunity to apply their probability calculations for a purpose other than answering a question on a handout, so I gave them this:

Mr. Cloud's Free Throws Lesson_1

Any athlete in the class immediately said “no way.” I asked them to defend their argument and someone asked me to prove it. We talked and they got to the conclusion that I couldn’t prove it, but they could disprove my claim. They wanted to see me shoot some foul shots:

This confounded them a bit. I only made 45% of my free throws. They couldn’t tell whether that was different enough from 50% to say my claim was wrong. Someone finally asked for a probability to quantify their feelings:

Mr. Cloud's Free Throws Lesson_2

There’s a 32% chance that I could be a 50% free throw shooter and make 9 or less out of 20. They concluded that probablity was too high and they couldn’t disprove my claim.

Hopefully this groundwork will pay off when we officially start inference on friday.

One thought on “Mr. Cloud’s Foul Shots

Leave a Reply

